The Times Together

Too often, when I come back home after a big and long tiring day at work, I feel a little empty inside. I have a loving family and possibly the best set of friends I could have asked for. However, sometimes, despite all of this, it just feels a little empty inside as I end up wondering if I am actually living my life or the exhaustion of the corporate world is taking a toll on me.

I still remember the date. It was March 2nd, another of those Monday blues which makes you sit back and reflect at how monstrous life is. When I came back home, I expected nothing but the routine. Don’t get me wrong as my family takes a lot of pleasure in showering love on me. However, we had a family function coming up and everyone was engrossed in the same.

To my utter surprise, I found my parents sitting in my room. My brother was there too. He had just returned after a long time for a surprise vacation. My whole face lit up on seeing him because it’s been a really long time since I had met him. I jumped the steps to him and enveloped him in a big bear hug.

He was overwhelmed too at seeing me so full of love. I don’t recall having any kind of exhaustion after that. The clock read 11:35 that time and I had an early morning shift tomorrow, but somehow the hours seemed endless. We sat on my bed, munching our favourite midnight snacks. My mother baked the most delicious of all cakes at midnight and we sat together like one big happy family.

My brother told how he had longed for such times when he used to work late at office and returned back to an empty room. I realized that sometimes, it is not the long hours spent at office for the sake of making that extra quick cash which really matters.

That night, we didn’t sleep. How could we? My big brother had come back after such a long time and he would be leaving shortly too. While it was common for us brothers to say late in night, that day, my parents took an exception too. They sat with us and narrated us tales of when we were little and how the family always stayed #together.

That day remains one of my favourite memories till date. Even now, when I am looking for some kind of an inspiration to take the day forward, all I do is let the memories of the day wash over me and it is all I need to move ahead and carry out my duties.

Seriously, life is nothing but moments spent #together.

Housing.com is a company that speaks of optimism. You can check out the best #together stories.

Leave a comment